the first little spark

It was like pulling my car into a gas station, except in this case, car equals me. The room had seven beds, divided by a checkered hospital curtain (the person next to me thought the colors reminded her of a Mexican restaurant). The nurse asked me to wear a “vest” that allowed her to loosely tie my body to the bed in case I try to get out of the bed later and fall off. Then, someone inserted an IV, followed by my ECT psychiatrist, who was wearing some sort of a track suit. I saw him for about 30 seconds, just to tell me happy new year and that I will be receiving unilateral ECT for today (less memory loss, according to some) .  Then, the anesthesiologist spoke to me for about 10 seconds. There’s no countdown.

And then, I woke up. It was already over.

My head still hurts, and there’s some hardened gel in my hair from where they placed the electrode.

Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.

Leave a Reply

