to dream, perchance to sleep

One of the most important barometers of mood  is your sleep cycle. It’s extremely important that I get at least a certain – and consistent – amount of sleep. A little change here and there isn’t a bad thing, but that meter can’t swing too far to the “too little sleep” or “too much sleep.” It often signals the beginnings of either a deeper depression or a magical mania.

At first, 10mg of zolpidem tartrate did okay. Then, it turned to 15mg, 20mg, then I still couldn’t fall completely asleep. We’ve tried clonazepam this past week. For a day or so a few milligrams seemed to let me fall asleep, but by last night, I finally fell asleep after 6 mg of those cute yellow pills and a vodka/cranberry drink.  Despite all the issues with going to bed, I’ve still been waking up around 6:30am in time to watch “Morning Joe” and take a walk. But I recognize this is a problem. I e-mailed my doctor, and she called in a new prescription.

Anywhere between 50-150mg of Trazodone, a type of antidepressant that can also work as a sedative. Oh, I hope this works. With my parents being here, I need as much quality sleep as I can get so that I don’t look so exhausted in front of them.

I’m not quite sure why I’m even writing about this, so sorry for this rather negligible post. But not having enough quality sleep is making me lose any sparks of ideas in my head…

On a related note:
Science Daily: Genetic Link Found Between Sleep Disorders And Depression In Young Children

Counseling Resource: Sleep and the Treatment of Depression

Leave a Reply

