early rise (in caution)

I am not an early morning person. But today I woke up around 4:30 am, without the aid of my cat’s meow. Instead of going back to sleep, I prepped for the upcoming fantasy football draft (more on that later-who knew there could be so much reading involved!), did my makeup, cleaned the bathroom counter, visited my sister for breakfast (why are you up already?, she asked), and handwrote some notes. One could see this as a reason why I should get up early. But this unusual productivity, one that even involved cleaning, sometimes indicates a beginning of something else for me: hypomania.

It’s way too early to tell, but this is how it always starts out. I once started waking up around 2:30am and showed up at work around 5am. Because I didn’t have a key to the office, I just sat in front of the door and did work on the floor. This behavior later snowballed into a much bigger issue. Today, I am not at that state, but am feeling anxious and a bit agitated. Perhaps I’m just concerned  that prozac could swing my mood a little too high. One good thing is I have yet to do something that has been my good indicator for hypomania.

So, what’s my biggest sign that would tell me if I am indeed hypomanic? If I start baking in the middle of the night. I have yet to start lining up my flour and sugar, so I think I’m okay. Now I should go clean my house while I still have this frenetic energy.

Leave a Reply

