My lunchbox

lunch box
I keep my medication in a metal lunchbox. It’s a cute little way to store all the bottles, I think. I remember when my first prescription directed me to take one 100mg of Wellbutrin SR per day. Those days have clearly passed. In addition to other things, there’s 400mg of bupropion SR (generic wellbutrin) in my system each and everyday. There’s been times when I stopped taking the meds, but it hasn’t occurred to me to neglect this routine in a long time. I have been wondering recently, though, just exactly how much these meds are helping. What kind of difference would I notice if I just quit one day? Will there even be any?

I will take my evening dose, knowing that this would not be a good time to try to find out the answers to these questions. I’ve found out the answers the hard way before, but I guess I never learn.

2 Comments to “My lunchbox”

  1. I used to keep my pills in a candy jar on my bedside table. It amused me.

    I am amazed that you started on only 100mg Wellbutrin. I started at 300, and I’m still there. My doc has considered going higher when it wasn’t enough, but my aunt had serious side effects (seizures) on higher doses of Wellbutrin, so we didn’t want to risk it.

  2. “I will take my evening dose, knowing that this would not be a good time to try to find out the answers to these questions. I’ve found out the answers the hard way before, but I guess I never learn.”

    I am in a phase where that is my thought process every single night. (I think I’m too half-asleep in the mornings for any coherent thoughts to happen!)

    I started with one 10 mg. paxil pill (entirely unsuccessful, btw) 13 years ago, and since then have been through 23 different medications in various dosages and combinations…I’ve had phases where I’ve taken 14 pills per day, and periods when I’ve resolutely taken zero. Wellbutrin gave me panic attacks the likes of which I’ve never had before or since, and so it lasted only a couple of weeks, but other then that, I can really relate to what you wrote.

    hang in there.

Leave a Reply

