Closer to Fine

One of my favorite music groups is the Indigo Girls, so I was very excited that I got to go to the Indigo Girls concert last night with some of my friends. I don’t go to concerts very often, but for some reason, I’ve been to more Indigo Girls concerts than I can remember (I think this may have been my 6th or 7th one).

Because I do have a habit of singing along to their CDs in my car–especially now that I drive nearly an hour each way to get to class–, I have come to know a lot of their songs on the concert set list (Btw, their concert is more like a giant sing-along). But there was one song that I hadn’t heard in a few years and couldn’t even remember the exact title. Though it took me a moment to recall the lyrics, I did remember word-for-word the line that I used to hold in my heart as one of my favorite quotes:

…but what it takes to cross the great divide seems more than all the courage i can muster up inside, but we get to have some answers when we reach the other side. the prize is always worth the rocky ride…
(from ‘The Wood Song’)

I had forgotten about this line that meant so much to me in the past. As I recalled it, it became clear how much it still means to me. And just how those words seem to apply so much to what’s going on in my life. As I sang along that line with the Girls, I could feel a sense of joy spread, not just across my face, but inside of me.

I think I do have that fire in me to want to do better and get through all of this. The Indigo Girls let me realize that I am slowly but surely getting “closer to fine.” I just hope I don’t forget that there is a lot of fight left in me.

P.S.  I didn’t realize how quickly one can get out of the habit of writing!


Leave a Reply

