What Science is Discovering about exercise and depression: US News

US News and World Report has an article, What Science is Discovering about Exercise and Depression.
Here’s an excerpt:

The benefit is both psychological and physiological. The impact of exercise on the depressed brain appears to take several forms, but the long-touted “feel good” endorphins aren’t necessarily the answer, says Dunn. “Exercise induces all these neural growth factors,” she says, and “creates new neurons in your brain.” The result: bolstered connectivity that could play a critical role in the depressed brain, which is often operating with a deficit of these connections. Also very important, explains Blumenthal, is the fact that keeping up a regular workout regimen seems to reinforce self-confidence and a sense of being in control of one’s health.

 

It’s not that I didn’t know that regular exercise is good for me. Anyone who’s been depressed has probably been told to ‘go for a walk’ at some point in their treatment process. But I’ve been really lazy about keeping up with a semi-work out schedule that I had a few months ago. That lapse has not been good for me mentally and have noticed a physical change, too.

Reading this article made me tell myself that I need to get back on that treadmill again, but I really need a way to be more consistent about exercise. Perhaps I need to view exercising, well, like a prescribed pill. If I can pop a few pills without too much thought, I guess I can hop on an elliptical without thinking much about it, too. Any suggestions to help me stay on track?

 

One Comment to “What Science is Discovering about exercise and depression: US News”

  1. I am so sick of people telling me how exercise helps them feel better. I exercise vigorously, in my aerobic zone, for long periods of time regularly, and I feel absolutely no better. I also have excellent nutrition, although I eat too many calories, and it has never done anything to abate my depression. Ever. I wish science would study people who get absolutely no emotional benefit from exercise or good nutrition. The response I usually get is “Do you want to feel better”? Unfortunately, people are very threatened by an unpleasant truth, so they choose to deny it instead.

Leave a Reply

