mental health news round-up: 1/11-1/15

Reuters: According to research released in the latest Journal of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, the number of children aged 2 to 5 who have been diagnosed with bipolar disorder and prescribed powerful antipsychotic drugs has doubled over the past decade.

USA Today: Army wives with deployed husbands suffer higher mental health issues, according to a study released by the New England Journal of Medicine.

CNN: In Haiti, mental aftershocks could be far-reaching Feelings of confusion, fear, agitation, grief and anger that surround a large-scale traumatic event such as the Haiti earthquake give way to more pronounced psychological disorders once people’s basic human needs are taken care of, experts say.

The Seattle Times: Gov. Chris Gregoire proposed a new sentencing option for mentally ill offenders Wednesday that would allow the state to punish offenders for their crimes and treat their mental illness in prison instead of in a state psychiatric hospital.

BBC News: New figures show that in the last six months the number of 18 to 24-year-olds seeking help for bipolar disorder has doubled, with calls to helplines rising from an average of 400 a day to more than 800. MDF, The BiPolar Organisation, has put the increase partly down to a storyline in EastEnders featuring the character Stacey Slater.

2 Comments to “mental health news round-up: 1/11-1/15”

  1. Hello,

    Earlier this week, I stumbled upon a link that you posted to your website in response to some general ECT questions in another forum. Over the past couple days, I have read your entire blog from its inception. I cannot even begin to thank you enough for publicly sharing your journey. By the way, although I liked your shadow self-portrait as I am into photograpghy, I was so thrilled when you posted your actual reflection; the continued realization of your own inner strength is evident in you writings!

    In many respects, I have felt like you could have been telling my story–even including, on the lighter side, a vet that has questioned my dog’s mental health. I am facing beginning ECT in February and while I had agreed to it, I could find no peace with my decision. Your chronicles helped me to be able to accept my reality, as well as put me at some ease regarding the side-effects of ECT in a way that no one/nothing else has been able to.

    The wealth of information that you provide on mental health generally makes your website/blog invaluable, and I hope that many more people are able to make their way to your site. I know that I will be passing along the link.

    From the bottom of my heart, I wish you continued success at gaining freedom from your illness. It sounds like you have the right mind-set. As my Dr. Melfi likes to say (I believe borrowing from AA), “don’t give up until the miracle happens.”

    Thanks again!

  2. Robyn, thank you so much for your kind words; your words are much too kind. Thank you, also, for reading this journal in its entirety. I hope your dog is doing mentally and physically well :)

    I truly wish you well as you begin your own ECT journey. If you’re comfortable, please let me know how things are going/went. I’d be happy to share my e-mail address if that’s better. And if you have any questions prior to the ECT, please feel free to ask. I may not have answers, but what I can do is share my experience.

    Thank you again, and I hope we can keep in touch!
    Warmly,
    yumers/”little spark”

Leave a Reply

