Mental Health Month is here!

May is Mental Health Month. Started in 1949 by Mental Health America, their theme for this year is “Live Your Life Well.”

WEGOHealth had a list of “31+ Ways to Celebrate, Engage, and Honor Mental Health Month,” so here it is.

I am in the middle of writing one of several papers that’s due within a few days, so I will be commenting on how I feel about these awareness months a little later. But what I want to say for now is that mental health is a part of every person’s health, not just a concern for those with mental illness or problems. We all need to care for our minds, just as much as we care for our bodies. I’m glad Mental Health America picked a theme that encompasses everyone.

To commemorate Mental Health Month, I will try to post a ‘tip of the day’ of some sort. So here’s one for today:

As Garrison Keillor says at the end of every Writer’s Almanac,
“Be well. Do good work, and keep in touch.”

2 Comments to “Mental Health Month is here!”

  1. wow…this blog is great…I’ve been blogging for a few months, random posts, many with connections to mental health issues.

    I’d enjoy connecting with you, as I am starting to work to find time to connect with other blogs and to try and get readers beyond myself.

    I look forward to reading more. Pax, K

  2. trainsnherons, thanks for the comment. hope we keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

