ECT #30 (my 15th maintenance treatment)

Have I really done this 30 times? Even I admit that’s a lot of ECT, and the numbers are only going to get higher. But it’s not a painful or an uncomfortable procedure, and the only real discomfort after the process is the headache. I do wish this cost a little less, though.

There was funny moment right before the anesthesiologist put me to sleep. As I was getting hooked up with wires and stuff, a nurse asked me about my dating life, which I’ve never done in my life. She then told Dr. F about it, so Dr. F, the nurse and I ended up having a funny conversation about what I could do to meet people. I wish I could remember the conversation because it was really entertaining. It really did include a lot of laughs.

2 Comments to “ECT #30 (my 15th maintenance treatment)”

  1. I’m glad to see you are doing better. My grandmother had ECT back in the 1950’s, when it wasn’t nearly advanced as it is today. I have a sisters and a niece who both suffer from bipolar. I have experienced how a family member’s mental health affects the entire family. I have always been intrigued by the subject of ECT since my grandmother had the treatment. What sort of preparation does the patient experience before the treatment? Did you have to take your shoes off?

  2. Gary, they first check my blood pressure/temp. in the prep room, and when i get to my bed, I do take off my shoes before lying down (they put on some sort of a vest on me so that i won’t fall off the bed during the procedure). Then, they put the blood pressure cuffs and a finger-pulse thing on me, stick on some wires around the body (I assume, for the EKG) and insert a cannula in my right arm so that they can inject the anesthesia and the muscle relaxant. Then, I wait til my psychiatrist comes to the bed to give me a quick talk before the anesthesiologist tells me I’m going for a little nap. As I’m falling asleep, they usually put the head band that delivers the current to my head.

Leave a Reply

