Stronger

Last night, I got to have dinner with my good friend Katy. We hadn’t seen each other in a while since she gave birth to a beautiful baby girl just this spring. We talked about bunch of stuff, and somehow we got to talking about my weight. It’s an awkward subject for me since since I have parents who still comment about my weight and have since I was little. I don’t think I’ve ever even brought up this issue in this journal. I have gained about 15 lbs. this year, and I know that I don’t need that extra weight on my 5 ft 2 in. frame (I weigh around 140 lbs). It’s just not easy to feel good about yourself anyway when someone is always telling you that you’d be so much prettier if you were thinner.

When I told Katy how I needed to work out to lose weight, she said to me, “maybe you should think about working out because you want to be stronger.” Though I’ve learned to look at my parents’ comments differently, I’ve never thought about working out, not to lose weight, but really to improve who I am right now. With the other times I’ve tried to lose weight, I have tried to tell myself that I’m doing it for myself, but it never really felt like it. But with this single comment from my friend, I realized that I want to take steps to get stronger. It just so happens that I might lose weight while taking those steps.

So, I’m going to make a commitment on this journal that I want to be stronger. And in order to do so, I commit to start working out regularly. Sure, I want to get to a healthy weight, but now I can tell myself that my main goal is to be a better me.

Thank you, Katy.

6 Responses to “Stronger”

  1. This may sound like a stupid question and if so I apologize but can ect treatments cause weight gain?

  2. Marie, I personally didn’t gain weight from ECT. And from what I’ve read, I don’t think that’s one of the side effects.

  3. I had a similar epiphany at the beginning of the year. I started off strong. Gym 3-4 times a week, cut out sodas, started eating better. But come April, I started losing the motivation. I’ve been trying recently to bet back on the wagon, so thanks for your post it was a little bit of inspiration. (And by the way, you losing weight should definitely be just for you, because you’re already beautiful. I don’t think 15 lbs could change that)

  4. Great idea! You’re about my size and I know what you are talking about-but this “stronger” idea is great. I’m going to use it to help me begin working out again. I literally am weak too-side effect of Effexor. Thanks for the post/thanks Kate

  5. Kate, thanks. I’m so glad my friend brought up that idea.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

