a bad cocktail


I messed up. I already take Zolpidem Tartrate (generic Ambien) to go to sleep, but for some reason, I just wanted to feel that sleepiness right away on Friday. So, what do I do? I decide to take a random mix of pills in my house, e.g. Seroquel, Seroquel XL, Trazodone, etc. (Yes, it’s a bad idea to keep old pills I’m no longer prescribed to around, but I do it anyway).

Seroquel and Trazodone have never really been my friends, so I should have known that rather than making me fall asleep fast, they will simply make me sleep for the entire following day…..which is exactly what happened. I couldn’t get out of bed  ’til about 5pm, making me miss my shift at work on Saturday. That zombie-like state I stumbled into from the cocktail of pills lasted pretty much until about mid-day today. I made it to work, albeit an hour late. They’re understanding because they’ve dealt with me on occasion with me and the meds, but I know they can’t keep being kind to me for too long.

Why do I do this to myself?

4 Comments to “a bad cocktail”

  1. Because sometimes you want to sleep more than anything, and when you have tools that you think can help… it’s incredibly tempting to use them.

    I’ve taken my [emergency use only] anxiety meds a few times when I desperately wanted sleep. Even though it always backfires, because I always feel groggy later. And when I run out and then have a panic attack, then I really kick myself.

  2. I can certainly relate wanting to sleep badly enough/taking meds u have round the house. I have been there-especially when my husband is grating on my nerves!lol But, none of the meds I’ve been given help me sleep-trazodone example-gave me chills and the sweats-I was really tired-but sweats/chills at the same time? My body doesn’t like meds.

  3. Keely, I’m not good with those “emergency use only” directions…. I know I need to keep some of the meds around, but yes, they are tempting at inappropriate moments.

  4. Tricia, I don’t exactly know what benefits Trazodone has had for me except create side effects (I no longer take them–I think it was prescribed for a very short period). Yet, I apparently have a bottle sitting around in my house. It’s a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

