Sisterly love as a shield from depression

well, sibling love, really. The US News had an article today about a new research from Brigham Young University (soon to be published in the Journal of Family Psychology) that showed that having a sister protected adolescents from feeling lonely, unloved, guilty, self-conscious and fearful. It didn’t matter whether the sister was younger or older, or how far apart the siblings were agewise.

Read the whole article

I also think that sisters serve as a practical, not just emotional, shield from depression as well. This morning, my sister texted me several times to make sure that I was awake and okay. Thanks to my sister, I’m actually awake and functioning today. (Well, I do have to acknowledge my cat, who came next to me and meow for a while to wake me up.)

2 Comments to “Sisterly love as a shield from depression”

  1. Thanks for posting this, Yumers! I think there is a lot of help that can come from sibling bonds. I know it has helped me and I have tried to be there for my siblings. By the way, I finally remembered to change the spelling of your name on all the places I misspelled it on my blog. Sorry about that!

  2. Despite the vast differences in me and my siblings, I definitely feel like I would not be the same person without them. It’s good to be thankful for that every now and then.

Leave a Reply

