Would you make a good psychotherapist?

Gabriel Byrne as Dr. Paul Weston in HBO's "In Treatment"

We’ve probably all gone to one of our therapy appointments and then thought to ourselves, “Could I do that, too?” Perhaps the following could give you an answer to your question.

“Psychologies” magazine has a 10-question quiz, “Would you make a good psychotherapist?” They also have other tests, such as “What’s your creative style?” and “Do you know how to be happy?”

So, would I make a good psychotherapist? According to this site, I am “attracted to the idea of becoming a therapist, but could go off in the wrong direction.”  I’m not quite sure what that means, but right now, I’m only planning on going to therapy, not actually having to become one.

2 Comments to “Would you make a good psychotherapist?”

  1. Even though I have an ancient BS Degree in Psychology, I know I wouldn’t make a good therapist. There’s too much frustration to deal with and patients not doing what you tell them to do. I can get that satisfaction from my kids.:)But, I’ll take the tests anyway.

  2. I’ve wondered this as well. According to the ten question test, “Your life experience would provide a good starting point”. Not sure if would make a good therapist or not, but I do feel a great sense of self worth and peace when I know I’ve helped a friend through something hard. I think that sometimes helping other people is the best way to help yourself. Patience seems to be the key, most of the time, and I’ve always been told I have plenty of that. Sometimes to a fault. Great post.

Leave a Reply

