batting 500 (posts)

So, here it is. I’ve reached my 500th post.  I’ve been told that this is a milestone of some sort, and well, it is :) And I guess #500 calls for some time of reflection.

I look at myself, and sometimes I only see the flaws, and not anything else. There’s even a sense of timidness that comes over me as I talk about having to look at myself.  I think we tend to view our depression as a weakness—something to hide. But what have I learned in dealing with this illness and through writing these posts? It is that having dealt with depression is really a strength, and that I am strong for all that I have lived through and known.  A friend told me something so perfectly true: “depression just sometimes seems “stronger” than our wills at the time.  But if a house survives the ravages of a hurricane, do we think it’s a weak house because the shutters are banged up or a few roof tiles have been torn off?  No, it’s a strong house, because it’s still standing!”

During those times of stormy weather though, I have relied on the help of others to keep me going. I am grateful for the friends and family that have stood by me and helped me get patched up. Also, thank you to the readers who actually visit this site and have sent me encouraging words. Without you, the readers, I would’ve never made it to number 500!

I know that I won’t always feel strong, but I think we need to remind ourselves that we are strong. So what if we’re a little banged up?  Dolly Parton said, “Storms make trees take deeper roots.” If we are still standing after those storms, it obviously means that we are indeed strong!

TO 500 MORE!

Tags:

4 Comments to “batting 500 (posts)”

  1. Taking deeper roots…together we stand.

    Cheers to your great accomplishment!

  2. I love your website. You do a great job of bringing us your personal experience, as well as pulling together all the “newsy” stuff. Keep it up!

  3. Congrats! Your blog is excellent, I’m glad I was exposed to it so I could share it with others.
    Looking forward to the next 500.

Leave a Reply

