Jon Hamm talks about depression

Ok. The following may be just an excuse for me to get to put a picture of Jon Hamm on my blog….and it kind of is :)  But this actor who plays Don Draper on ‘Mad Men’ really did talk about depression in an interview he did for a UK magazine, The Observer. The whole interview is here but the excerpt about his struggle with depression was on Huffington Post, too.

“I did do therapy and antidepressants for a brief period, which helped me. Which is what therapy does: it gives you another perspective when you are so lost in your own spiral, your own bullshit. It helps. And honestly? Antidepressants help! If you can change your brain chemistry enough to think: ‘I want to get up in the morning; I don’t want to sleep until four in the afternoon. I want to get up and go do my shit and go to work and…’ Reset the auto-meter, kick-start the engine!”

Leave a Reply

