hop, skip, and not renewing meds

As if we needed someone to do actual research on this topic. Anyway…

So, I haven’t been too good about taking my medication lately. I haven’t missed everything, but I let one of the meds run out and haven’t made a trip to the pharmacy to go pick them up. I know this is not a good thing to do, and I’m counteracting whatever help the ECT has given me in the last few days. The amount of regret from skipping doses is already mounting. Before the actual effect starts to mount as well,  I really better go get these meds tomorrow.

I’m quite sure this is a scenario that many others have faced. Apparently, someone needed more confirmation than (lots of ) anecdotal stories. According to the story on MSNBC.com, “Many antidepressant users miss doses, study shows,” the study conducted by Medco showed that1 in 3 of those who switched to higher doses didn’t refill prescriptions as often as they should. They only looked at antidepressant use, but I wonder if this behavior is also common among other medications not related to one’s mental health.

It’s really stupidity on my part to be skipping my drugs when I know what has happened in the past. If I had to make an excuse for my behavior, it’s partly because my drug coverage is about run out soon, and this particular medication costs a lot. I called an insurance agent today to see if I can get new insurance, and she told me bluntly that I may not be able to get coverage from anyone else. If an insurance agent already thinks that, is it going to worth spending my time looking for new insurance? I’ve resigned myself to not being able to get any mental health treatments covered, but I at least want prescription drug coverage. Even with the health care rule changes, am I still going to be left behind?I think the fact that my current health coverage is about to run out is starting to get to me.

One Comment to “hop, skip, and not renewing meds”

  1. Your suspicion is correct about patients frequently becoming noncompliant with maintenance medications. It’s so correct, in fact, that we built an entire business around it! We offer a “high-touch” PBM service that initiates contact to both patients and physicians when we discover a patient has not had their chronic medications refilled when due. We actually save employers money in the long run by reducing overall healthcare costs as patients increase medication compliance.

    Sorry to hear about your insurance woes. That entire industry is… complex… If you’re taking a brand-name medication, check to see if its manufacturer offers a patient assistance program. Many will provide patients without good insurance coverage a discount card so that those patients can continue taking their meds at a price that’s much lower than the street rate.

Leave a Reply

