rejection letter

For many students, Fall is a time to fill out applications to the school of their dreams. For me, it’s been a season to fill out applications in pursuit of the next great health insurance….or anyone who’ll even let me have one. I am currently insured, but there’s no mental health coverage left and I have almost exhausted the lifetime coverage of its prescription plan, which is quite an important part of my medicated life. So, when I went to my mailbox today, I received my first response letter from an insurance carrier. I ripped the envelope open to find that it was a note to tell me that I’ve been rejected for their insurance coverage. The reason, according to them? “Bipolar disorder and with electroconvulsive or shock therapy.”

I knew this letter could be coming. I had been told by an insurance agent that I probably wouldn’t be able to get someone else to insure me. But despite this knowledge, I teared up looking at the letter. The letter made it bluntly clear that I will never be able to get rid of the fact that I have/had those two things that they mentioned as what keeps me from getting insurance. If I can’t get health insurance now, what’s going to happen when I’m actually old? Also, I was a supporter of the fairly recent health care changes when the debate was going on (and I am very glad for the semi-overhaul). But what I realized was that the new changes didn’t actually make it any easier for me to obtain insurance. It wasn’t that I didn’t know our health care system is flawed. But I can now taste the bitterness and feel the frustration throughout my body  as I experience this process. I get that many people are in much worse situation than I am, but that doesn’t mean I can’t be angry about my current state of affairs.

Should I keep filling out pages and pages of these applications or just be resigned to paying hundreds of dollars each month for health insurance that doesn’t actually cover for my health costs?

4 Comments to “rejection letter”

  1. The Health care reform is not suppose to allow for denial for preexisting conditions. Have you contacted your legislators and the state insurance commission? Do not believe that this is legal.

  2. Why doesn’t the new rules apply that you cannot be rejected for a preexisting condition. With parity why should there be a lifetime benefit?

  3. Actually, the first commentor was correct that pre-existing conditions should be covered; however, with the new health care act, it will not begin until 2014 unless you’re a child, and in that case, it started almost immediately. But for adults, this is only if it ever goes into effect, the Republicans have vowed to do everything in their power to keep it from happening, even though it may not be repealed. I may not have been totally for it, but I wasn’t totally against it either.

    If everyone rejects you, I say, you still need health insurance. You never know what might happen to you, psychiatric reasons are not the only reason to have health insurance. If you are diagnosed with cancer, you can’t very well get health insurance THEN. That would be like having your house burn down and THEN trying to buy home insurance to rebuild your house.

    I am very discouraged at Congress’s overall attitude towards the mentally ill, how more is not mandated towards us, that we are not treated the same as those who are physically ill. Well, we ARE physically ill, but you know what I mean.

    There is no justice.

  4. bw, thanks for the comment. I probably should contact those people even if the rule doesn’t go into effect just yet.

Leave a Reply

