concerns with maintenance ECT

My psychologist, Dr. L, gave me an assignment to do for today’s session. She asked me to write down the concerns and frustrations I have with maintenance ECT at this moment. So, here they are:

  • In order to have ECT, I have to interrupt someone else’s life so she can transport me to and from treatment
  • Obviously, it’s better for me to still be ‘happy’ when the next ECT treatment rolls around, but exactly how many weeks can I be ‘left alone’ until I need another little spark?
  • How do I know if this is really working?
  • When you ‘maintain’ something, you do it for a long time. I’ve brought up this concern before, but here it is again. Is there an endpoint to all of this, or is this something I truly need to be maintained?
  • Last night, I realized I didn’t remember most of what I had to read for class. My memory loss has been minimal, but will that change as I have more and more ECT?
  • Since I’m doing this all the time, could I quit the medications?
  • Has going through ECT cost me any chance of being able to obtain health insurance, at least until 2014? (Note: I do have health insurance, but I’m trying to switch to something that comes with at least a prescription drug benefit)
  • Is there some sort of a standard that I should be reaching as a result of the ECT?

Maybe there’ll be more to add a little later, because I think I have more than just this list.

3 Comments to “concerns with maintenance ECT”

  1. Hey Old Friend,
    I’m in Beirut, living with my mother. It’s not easy at all. My mother and I don’t get along, we co-habitate. But my depression is better. I’m sort of in rehab. I do nothing. It’s always (almost) sunny.
    Just remembered to check in on you today because, at the core, I’m still depressed. Surprised you’re still doing ECT. You must have had a lot!
    On the whole, you sound better though.
    Cheers.

  2. Hi, I have been having ECT maintenance treatments for over three years..I also TRIED to start a blog on this wordpress thing and I can’t seem to understand how to get it to the category I want which, is basically like yours… I have some major things I would like to say. For one, ECT memory loss is real. At least it is for me. I would like to blog the details but I don’t know how. I am educated, actually have a bachelor’s degree in nursing. But I can’t figure out how to do this shit. Can u help me.

  3. Hi, Fattoush! Sorry I’m getting back to you so late. Thanks for checking in on me.

Leave a Reply

