Learning how to “sur-thrive”

Sur-thrive. That’s the word Carrie Fisher used in a latest interview with the New York Times (It’s an interview with Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds together). I just found that word so fitting to what I’m trying to do. It’s like I don’t want to just survive if I’m going to live a life, but at this point in time, I’m trying to survive to thrive—thus, ‘sur-thrive.’

Here’s a small excerpt from the interview that I found pretty funny:

Q. Just to clarify, do you suffer from manic depression or bipolar disorder?

FISHER They say bipolar now. It’s the same as manic depression. I think manic depression is more descriptive. Bipolar sounds like a gay bear.

3 Comments to “Learning how to “sur-thrive””

  1. I’m bipolar and I agree with Carrie Fisher. LOL I love her. At this point they’ve got us trained to say bipolar. By-the-way. I’m a new reader I’m glad I found your blog.

  2. Hi, this is Tom’s friend Lily…I was wondering if you received the email message I sent to you at “yumers@live.com” last week? It occurred to me that that might be an address that you don’t check regularly, which might explain the lack of a response…though I CC’d Tom on the message, and he didn’t write back either (but he’s just awful about written correspondence anyway)…so yeah, just double-checking to see what’s up. I hope you’re doing OK and to hear back from you soon.

  3. Tamara, did you get to see ‘Wishful Drinking’ on HBO this past weekend?

    Thanks for finding the site!

Leave a Reply

