a good time to stop?

When Dr. F. mentioned yesterday about the eventual end to my having ECT, I was a little surprised. I had become resigned to going through the treatment for a long time to come, so it was a bit of a shock to me to hear that he doesn’t foresee this to be a long-term thing. Sure, I’m glad to hear that comment, but to be honest, I’m a little scared to stop it all together. I still remember when I started becoming depressed again within a few months after my first go-around with ECT. I personally would rather keep having ECT every few months or so rather than stop it and then deal with having to start it up again. That would probably require another thorough physical, a psychiatric evaluation and maybe even several ECTs all within a few weeks’ time before getting back on a maintenance schedule of once-a-month or later.

I just can’t tell exactly what’s working for me—is it the drugs, the therapy, or the ECT? Can any of the above be cut without compromising my health?

Leave a Reply

