Masters-ful plan

I’ve never quite understood the lure of watching a game of golf on television. It’s not like golf fans wear “I heart Phil Mickelson” tees while watching TV, like one might wear for his/her favorite football team. While the intrigue may not be clear, I am one of those people. The Masters was being played this weekend, so for the last four days, I found myself turning the channel to watch this notable tournament.

The show pretty much involves watching men swing their clubs to hit a tiny ball while standing on a sprawling green acres-upon-acres of land. But I guess I’ve come to appreciate what it might take for one to make decisions to hit a ball in a certain distance and direction, and then swing a simple apparatus to try to meet that goal. While hundreds of people are on the green to watch these players and they do have caddies that help them, each man ultimately makes such decision on his own and then take action. It doesn’t always work out the way they planned it (Rory McIlroy probably wasn’t planning for his game to fall apart in the last round), but sometimes things work out far better than one may have imagined it (and such may have been the case for this year’s Masters winner, Charl Schwartzel).

We often hear that phrase, “game of life,” and when we use that saying, that “game” could be anything. One could imagine something like a lottery or slot machines where it really is about luck. But as I sat around watching golf this late  afternoon, I kind of thought about what it would be like if I approached my life right now more like a game of golf. Here’s a little list of what I think I  learned:

  1. Concentrate on one shot at a time. I watched how strategic each player was with every shot that he took. Sure, it’s important to focus on the big goal, but in order to achieve it, I must remember that each small step builds upon another to get there.
  2. Keep track of your score. After every hole, each player pulls out his score card from the back pocket and writes down his score. Knowing what you’ve done in the past can often serve as a guide in planning what to do at the next juncture.
  3. Every day is a new day. Charl Schwartzel, the guy that won the Masters, wasn’t a leader in the first three rounds, but that didn’t stop him from playing a spectacular last round. If he had let his performance in the previous rounds determine how he played on the last day, he may never would’ve won the green jacket.
  4. Keep walking. It doesn’t matter where the ball lands. The players keep walking to it and work to advance it to a next location. I need to remember to that I need to just keep moving if I want to get anything done.

I may have wasted some time this weekend watching a bunch of men in polo shirts, but I think I also gained a little ‘shot’ in the arm of some life lessons.

2 Comments to “Masters-ful plan”

  1. focus on one course until completed, and keep taking action.

  2. Kevin, thanks for adding to the ‘lessons from the Masters’!

Leave a Reply

