ECT #39 (24th maintenance treatment)

Today was another day for electroconvulsive therapy treatment. I haven’t felt very good lately, so I really did not feel like telling my ECT psychiatrist what’s been going on—but I knew I kind of had to. When Dr. F came to my stretcher/bed in the treatment room, I told him about how I experienced a sort of hypomania last two weeks and then reached a low this week. I guess he took my comments to mean that I can’t quite stop having ECT just yet (though I don’t think it was going to end today by any means). We’ve been spreading the treatments out to every eight weeks, but we compromised for the next ECT to be seven weeks from now. Until this week, Dr. F had been talking about how I’m coming close to the end of all this ECT, but I guess I ruined that chance now.

I usually have more to write on my treatment days, but I don’t really have much to say today. I came home and mostly slept for hours. I don’t usually feel that much better til tomorrow, so I guess I have to wait until then.

 

See the other ECT days here.

5 Comments to “ECT #39 (24th maintenance treatment)”

  1. I would like to know if you believe the ECT has caused side effects over time with you. I felt that I was losing hair, for example, and it never grew back. Any permanent side effect that matters to you?

    As you know, I am not geographically where I’d be able to get some quality ECT, but I am still depressed. I often think that I should have done more than the standard 8 sessions they initially tell you is typical. It seems that your scenario of maintenance is the more likely one.

    I also would like to ask you if you’re on meds, and if you don’t mind sharing which.

    BTW, I haven’t been able to sign in with my worpress username and password, don’t know why. You know it’s Fattoush.

  2. Fadia/Fattoush: Thanks for the comment. I’ll address most of it on a post in the next few days. But I don’t know what’s going on with wordpress and your username and password. Maybe they’re reworking something on their site…. As for the number of ECTs, yeah, it may have been better for them to reconsider whether eight was really enough, though 15 apparently wasn’t enough for me.

  3. liz
    July14, 2011 @ 9;10PM
    i HAVE HAD ect IN THE PAS WHEN i HAVE BEEN TREATED FOR MAJOR DEPRESSION. IT HAS BEEN EFFECTIVE. IT HAS BEEN SUGESTED THAT I HAVE MAINTENCE ECT (RT. UNILATERAL) DO YOU THINK IT WOULD BE POSSIBLE TO CONTINUE TO FUNCTION AS A PER DIEM RN IN THE HOSPITAL IF I AGREE TO HAVE THE TREATMENTS.
    I WORRY THAT I MAY FORGET SOMETHING THAT IS IMPORTANT

  4. Liz: Thanks for the comment. How long ago did you have ECT? How did you respond to them, and did you have memory issues from that time? I’m hesitant to say whether I thought you should have maintenance ECT, because I only know about it from my own experience. What’s the opinion of your doctor?

  5. Not heard from you in a while. Is all okay?

Leave a Reply

