Ri-DIRK-ulous

I’m watching the game 6 of the NBA Finals between the Dallas Mavericks and the Miami Heat. It’s been a set of exciting games, with the Mavs leading the Heat 3-2. I’m not usually that much of a NBA watcher, but this series has been a pretty interesting one. Though most critics are speculating on a Heat win, I am rooting for the Mavs. Moreover, I’m rooting for the Mavs’ star player, Dirk Nowitzki. He’s a 7-ft, German guy who really is an amazing player.

Why am I talking about Dirk Nowitzki on this blog? First, I was just inspired by Dirk’s perseverance. In game 4, he was running a 102 degree fever and still managed to score over 20 points, including the game-winning shot. But perhaps more than that is his heart. He lost the NBA finals in 2006, and when I hear him talk about it, it is obvious that it was a crushing blow to him. But what you see in him now is that he is confronting all his demons from several years ago.  I think it’s hard for any of us to lose something we wanted and then regain courage to go at it again, at full or even fuller strength than what we gave last time. We are usually so hurt by such experience that we may never want to even make another run at it. It’s so hard to be brave about something once we’ve been hurt by it once. With Nowitzki, his bravery is in full effect right now.

I get scared to face life since my deep fall into depression, and while I suppose I’m making a slow climb out of it right now through ECT and other treatments, it’s not easy to pull my life up by the bootstraps and act like I really want it— because I am easily reminded about where this could all go again. But watching Dirk and his fight to win it all makes me tell myself that it’s okay to make a run for it, even at the risk of possibly losing. After all, a “life unexamined is not worth living.”

It’s half time, and the Mavs are leading by 2. I’ve got to go back and root for Dirk!

GO MAVS!

2 Comments to “Ri-DIRK-ulous”

  1. Go Dirk, i love you and Dalas

    Miranda

  2. I am also coming from Germany therefore we have become proud of Dirk Nowotzki. A German born is a super star in the perfect basketball league worldwide. We are now thrilled how the Us residents celebrate “our own” Dirk. This is probably significantly less well recognized in the states.

Leave a comment